UNDERAGE DUI CHARGES CAN BE SERIOUS
Parents of teens in the Mobile area know that their teens don’t always make the best choices. Teens are notorious for doing whatever they want without thinking about the consequences. Most of the time the trouble they get themselves into is minor but occasionally they make a decision that lands them in deep trouble. A DUI is one of those situations that can cause lifelong consequences for a teenager. Those who are facing a DUI should know what the penalties can be if convicted.
ALABAMA’S ZERO TOLERANCE LAW
Alabama has a zero-tolerance law for underage drivers with alcohol in their system. A teen who is caught driving a car in Alabama with any amount of alcohol between .02 and .08 in their system can face a DUI charge. A teen who is arrested for a DUI can face:
- 30-day license suspension
- Potential of an ignition lock interface
- Alcohol awareness classes
- Fines of up to $2,100
If a teen has a blood alcohol content of more than .08 then they will face the same penalties as an adult. This can mean jail time and a longer license suspension and a criminal record.
WHAT PARENTS CAN DO
Parents understand that their children have a bright future. But if their child is facing a DUI charge parents can be concerned about how that will affect their child’s future. A legal professional who is skilled in criminal law can help a family who is dealing with this stressful situation. They will put every detail of the case under a microscope and aggressively defend their client against these charges. An attorney understands that it is important to protect their client’s future so that they will be able to attend college and pursue their dreams.